It’s summer! Finally!  We have had a few weeks of sun and some heat.  The evenings are fragrant.  The air is full of a delicious sweetness. I love taking the dog for a walk on a summer’s night (so much easier than the rainy days of winter!), the trees almost whisper a song as they sway to the evening breeze. Yesterday I went out to the valley and picked some raspberries and blueberries.  Then I was off to visit with my mom and step-dad.  I drove home at twilight. The light was golden as I left suburbia and made my way back downtown.  Seeing the city glow as I drove over the bridge, my breath almost caught in my throat. I love where I live. Vancouver is such an amazing city, the mountains, the ocean, the neighborhoods and then within 45-60 minutes you are out in farm country.

So with most of the berries packed away in the freezer, I kept some out to much on over the next day or two…don’t they look beautiful?

Sometimes simple is best. So this morning I rummaged around and found some goodies to throw together in some home made granola. The great thing about granola is how you can use what you have…one of my favourite approaches to food is to use what you have around.  If you always have to run to a store to follow a recipe exactly, I can only imagine how constricting, so if you feel like making some granola, use what you have, no maple syrup? Use honey?  Don’t like cinnamon, don’t add it. And so on, and so on.

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats
a handful of sliced almonds
handful of shredded sweetened coconut
2 tbsp canola oil
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 tbsp cinnamon
chopped dried fruit (i used golden raisins and apricots)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 F.
  2. In a bowl combine all the ingredients except the dried fruit and mix thoroughly.
  3. Spread on a baking sheet and put in the oven.
  4. Bake for about 20-25 minutes until golden brown, stirring a few times – just watch it carefully so it doesn’t burn.
  5. Remove, allow to cool and then mix in dried chopped fruit.
  6. Store in an air tight container, I find that a mason jar works really well.
  7. And of course, if possible serve with some fresh berries, either over milk or yogurt – yum!\
