I had a moment.  A moment when I looked at TB and knew exactly what I had to make.  The desire, the spark, came out of nowhere.  And yet at the same time I knew not only I wanted it, I knew I had to do it right then.  Call it a craving.  Call it crazy, but I called it inspired.

Okay, so I know that maybe was a little melodramatic, but I tell you, this really was good.  The berries, the dark chocolate “ganache”, the nutty almonds and toffee bits…rich vanilla ice cream and it was a spectacular unexpected addition to our cozy night at home.  A few summers back I was on a sundae kick. I love rummaging through the cupboards and fridge, looking for toppings to add to the basic, yet elegant vanilla ice cream.  It is about alternating textures.  Tantalizing flavour combinations: sweet and sour; rich and sharp.  It’s about a unique bite every time.

This name came together fromTB and I pretending what we would name this for a menu – smooth from the chocolate, white chocolate and icecream, crushed from the nuts and toffee, and the blackberry/raspberry combination contributes to the purple…and if you don’t mind me saying, I think it was a good choice 🙂 .


oops…we forgot to take the picture before we devoured it…next time?!

Ingredients:

vanilla ice cream
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
2 Tbsp cream
1/4 cup frozen berries, thawed (throw them into the microwave for about 20 seconds)
3 Tbsp toffee bites
2 Tbsp slivered almonds
2 tsp white chocolate chopped

Directions:

Make your chocolate ganache by combining the chocolate chips and cream together in a small bowl.  Place in microwave for25-30 seconds.  With a fork, whisk until smooth.

Now, with reckless abandon make layers with your ice cream, fruit, nuts, toffee bite, chocolate ganache, top with a little of the white chocolate and a few almonds.  Enjoy!
Serves two.

