I know this is a mass over-generalization, but I think if you have a male in your house, you might have someone who claims the TV for a good part of Sunday to watch upwards of 3-4 football games, and eagerly checks the scores of those games they didn’t get to watch.  I enjoy football.  In fact our very own BC Lions (CFL for my dear American readers) advanced in our playoff run today, and I cheered them on even though I was home alone.  Given that I knew today would be football dominated in our house, and that TB was going to be out in the morning to coach in the pouring rain, I thought I would have a hearty lunch waiting for him to warm him up and to give him the “game” experience, even if only watching on a cold, wet rainy Sunday in our living room.

Recently I discovered our little grocery store stocks very thinly sliced rib-eye for shabu shabu.  I find it has great flexibility and this was a prime example of grabbing some super accessible ingredients to make a tasty weekend lunch in about 15 minutes.  I don’t profess to know about the great Philly cheese steak.  From what I can tell, there is a rivalry around it.  What is authentic?  Who makes the best ones? To use cheese slices or cheese sauces.  I just used memory from the one or two that I have had at sporting events.  I looked for provolone at our little store, but they were out, so I went with a Monterrey jack – it melted like a charm and added a nice richness to the sandwich.  It also, as TB pointed out, helped keep everything together…so, don’t skimp on your cheese!

Philly Cheesestake 2

Ingredients:

1 sweet onion, sliced thinly
1 green, yellow, red or orange pepper thinly sliced
1 TB oil
2 TB butter
salt and pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno, minced

1 TB butter
1/2 kg of rib-eye, sliced very thinly
(I would ask your butcher do this if it isn’t already cut.  Or through  the rib-eye in the freezer for about 30 minutes to let it firm up and then slice, much easier this way to get consistent slices.
10-14 s
lices cheese, depending on size – you want to melt some on your bottom bun, and one over the meaT)
4-5
hoagie or hamburger buns

Directions:

     

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. In a large fry pan with a lid, melt oil and first amount of butter over medium-high heat.  Add pepper and onions, stir and allow to cook for 5-10 minutes, you don’t want to burn them like I did, so make sure you don’t rush it by turning the heat up too high.
  3. Prepare buns, slice and place slices of cheese on base.  Place on a pan, ready to hit the oven.
  4. Once the onions are starting to caramelize, add garlic and jalapeno.  Sprinkle with salt and fresh ground pepper, stir and allow to cook for about one minute.
  5. Remove onion mixture to a bowl, set aside.
  6. Turn heat up to high, add butter. Add thinly sliced meat.  If using a Teflon pan, use two wooden spoons to work the meat, pulling it apart to get that kind of shredded look, encouraging fast cooking without over cooking and loosing the tenderness fo the steak.
  7. Add buns to oven to warm and melt cheese.
  8. Once your meat is cooked to your just below your liking, we like it medium rare, so we stopped our cooking really at rare.  Stir in onion mixture.  Then place cheese in one layer over the pan, cover, turn heat down and let cheese melt.
  9. Remove buns from oven.  With a slotted spoon scoop out mixture, let drain a little and then serve on the bun.
  10.  

Serves 4-5.

