“Raspberry muffins.”  That was what was requested for breakfast by my 5 year old nephew a few weekends ago when we looked after him and his 2 year old sister.  We didn’t have raspberries, so it was off to the the grocery story.  They too didn’t have any.  The choices were down to blueberries and blackberries.  Blackberries were “close enough” I was informed.  So with my little helpers gathered around the world’s smallest kitchen we made these super easy muffins.  The results paid off!  Faces smeared with blackberries, and seconds asked for.  A successful collaboration I am positive of.

I found this recipe over at Gourmet Girl’s site.  I had been intrigued by the yogurt in the recipe.  I had made it a few weeks back for Friday treats at work.  So this go round with the kiddies I thought I would try it again.  However instead of plain or vanilla yogurt I opted maple flavoured yogurt, topped with maple sugar instead of vanilla sugar.  Regardless of what combination you built this as, I am sure they would work out.  A great standby to have kicking around when muffins are needed in a flash.

Blackberry Muffin_2

Ingredients:
12-1/2 ounces cake flour (3 cups)
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1 cup maple yogurt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 cups blackberries, (1 pint)
1/8 cup maple sugar for sprinkling tops
paper liners or buttered muffin tins

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Sift all dry ingredients into a large bowl and set aside. In a small bowl toss blueberries with about 1 tablespoon of flour mixture and set aside.
  3. Whisk all wet ingredients together and mix well.
  4. Add wet ingredients to flour mixture and mix with a wooden spoon until just barely combined. add blackberries and mix lightly. Do not over mix.
  5. With an ice cream scoop fill muffin pan almost all the way to the top. top with sugar generously and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Remove muffins from pan as soon as they are cool enough to handle. They will keep for 3-4 days covered at room temperature.

Makes 18 muffins

