Monday was a good friend’s birthday.  Since it is also a holiday here she opted to have a brunch in their beautiful backyard.  I insisted on bringing something…I don’t know why I am on a bit of a scone kick these days.  Perhaps because they are easy and they make the house smell sooooo good!  This recipe is apparently from the Empress Hotel’s legendary Afternoon Tea. They are simple and sweet.  Served with some lemon curd or crème fresh and warmed strawberry jam and perfect cup of tea and they make a great breakfast or snack.

I had a little of the batter left over so I left it in the fridge for 2 days and baked the final four scones a today.  I was worried they would be dry.  The texture was certainly different than those that I made directly after mixing.  The first baked batch was more buttery and a little crispy.  The batch made today was more crumbly and yet lighter.  If I was to make these again, I would let the dough sit at least overnight…I liked the result better I think.

Empress Scones

Empress Tea Scones
-20 scones

12 oz AP flour
4.5 oz sugar
1 oz baking powder
4.5 oz butter, cold and cubed
3 oz raisins, soaked
3 eggs
1 cup whipping cream

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350F
  2. Combine the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a large bowl.
  3. Cut in the butter until pea sized crumbs are obtained.
  4. Slowly add the eggs and the cream, stirring lightly.
  5. Fold in the raisins.
  6. Gently turn out onto a floured surface and pat into a rectangle that is about 1/2 ” thick.
  7. Use a floured cutter to cut into desired shapes.
  8. Place on a silpad on a cookie sheet.
  9. At this point either place in refrigerator to set overnight.
  10. Or, brush with cream or egg wash.
  11. Bake at 350 for 15-25 minutes until golden on the top.
  12. Serve with jersey cream and strawberry jam.

