A few weeks back, a friend connected me to a local food photographer in Vancouver who has her own food blog.   When I heard about her and that she was an expert in food photography you had to know how excited I was to scour her site.   Over the next few months we are going to test out guest blogging on each others blogs.    So, without further ado, I am pleased to introduce to any of my fair readers or visitors out there:  Jackie Connelly.

4_jackie_ezine
5 Minutes with Jackie

So, who are you?

Jackie Connelly, Food&Beverage Photographer based in Vancouver BC working for clients across Canada including Vancouver Island (where I plan to end up, hopefully sooner than later). For me, ‘food&beverage’ encompasses shooting not only the studio set up food & drinks for commercial and editorial clients, but also still-life, food lifestyle, and as of late, food and vegetable gardening images for book publishing clients.

I also work with Farm Folk/City Folk and Vancouver Farmers Markets to help promote the importance of local food in a variety of capacities. I am a Board member A Mentorship Program Coordinator of CAPIC , a photography & illustration organization and Board member at The Roundhouse in Yaletown.

What inspires you?

Packaging design, architecture, and those delicious glossy UK and New Zealand food magazines. I initially studied communication and packaging design, but turned out I was a better admirer than I was designer, so now I just drool over my RSS feed reader every morning. Architecture was the runner-up when I was deciding what to focus on shooting at the beginning of my career, and though I’m loving the fact that I chose food there’s so many things about architecture and fabulous architectural photography that speak to me. And c’mon, who doesn’t love those glossy food magazines? Even at $16 a piece and the decline of print publishing, I’ll still but them for the glorious photos.

On a Saturday afternoon, ideally I would

tend to my garden, cook a big brunch for Simon and I, relax with friends and family and tie up any loose ends from the week.

My ultimate comfort is

tending to my garden and keeping up the house. Lame as that sounds, it’s true.

What is your favourite book?

Tough one! Right now I’m reading Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food and Monica Ali’s In The Kitchen (which I won from a comment contest on Foodists.ca – yeah!) but one of my favorites that comes to mind right now is In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.

My guilty pleasure is…(and why)

As in guilty food pleasures? Ok then… (a) Lindt Fleur de Sel chocolate. Because it’s heaven. (b) Strawberries. Because I’ve been able to eat an entire pint of them at any one time since I was 6 years old and I still just want more; (c) My olive tapenade with extra extra extra garlic. Because it takes less than 5 minutes to make and it’s a hit every time.

