The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth. She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.

Now the posting date was yesterday.  I don’t know where the month flew, but between a good friend coming in town for another friends wedding, vacations, busy times at work, I blinked and the challenge post date had come and gone… oops!  So here we are.  Posting about baking cookies on quite possibly the hottest day of the year here in Vancouver.  I really liked the simplicity of the Milan Cookies and opted to just make them as I didn’t need all of them in our house of two.   My piping was not the best it could have been nor did I follow the recipe to a tee.  In fact I didn’t have the lemon extract in the cupboard, so I looked at my options, coconut, pineapple, rum, and pepermint.  If it was Christmas time, I think pepermint might have been the choice, but given the tropical nature of our “historic heatwave” I thought coconut and chocolate might be a nice combo.

So here they are:  Dainty, and super simple to make.  And a great treat with a cup of tea or a tasty coffee…though neither of those appeals to me right now in this +30C weather!  Thank you to Nicole for this fun recipe. Check out the other Daring Baker’s Milan and Mallow creations.

milan cookies

