Taster Boy loves to sleep in.  I often have the grand intention to do so, especially on Sundays…after all, Monday to Friday I can barely drag my sorry butt out of bed.  However, the weekends are a little different.  I seem to wake up at a decent time, usually between 8:30 and 9:00 a.m.  I love my sleepy quiet Sunday mornings.  I usually make myself a tea, grab a book and a blanket and sit on the balcony for a while. An hour later or so, and I start getting the itch to make something for breakfast.  I have been thinking about scones for the last few days, and toyed with the idea of strawberries and Marscapone cheese, a Google search later and I stumbled across Katie at Good Life Eats.

I made a few tweaks to her recipe,  though not too many.  These were wonderful!  So flavourful, a fantastic breakfast or dessert (or snack!) scone.  They came together in less than 10 minuets, were a little messy, but really, what scones aren’t when you are wrist deep in flour and butter.   Katie’s recipe called for what sounded lovely, a honey milk glaze, but I opted not to add that and just sprinkled a little sugar on top.

I will certainly be making these again…in fact, I only baked half the recipe this morning and plan on baking the other half tomorrow morning to bring into the office a Monday morning treat.

IMG_3490
Ingredients:

4 cups flour (I used 2 cups white and 2 cups whole wheat flour)
4 tsp baking powder
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp lime zest (she called for lemon, but I really like the lime flavouring)
1/2 cup butter, sliced
1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp Mascarpone cheese
2 large eggs
2/3 cup milk
1 Tbs vanilla
2 Tbsp honey
1 1/2 c strawberries, diced

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and zest. Mix well and set aside.
  3. Whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, and honey.
  4. Using two knives, cut the mascarpone cheese and butter into the flour mixture. (I found it easier to do the butter first and then the cheese  – make sure the cheese is fresh out of the fridge as this makes the method of “cutting it into the flour easier)
  5. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. Pour in the egg mixture and the strawberries. Gently stir until it forms together.
  6. Knead on a floured surface a few times – be gentle so you don’t squish the strawberries.
  7. Divide dough into two equal portions. Flatten into 8 inch rounds. Sprinkle the sugar on top.
  8. Bake at 375 degrees F on a parchment paper lined sheet for 20-30 minutes.
  9. Cut each round into eights. Cool on a wired rack.
  10. Serve with some strawberry jam (and maybe a little creme fraiche on the side?!)

