I know I have been MIA.  The weather is gorgeous – the garden is blooming, and I don’t really want to be in my hot little kitchen, and truthfully, the computer hasn’t really drawn me in either…

The balcony has definately called my name.  Hot evenings enjoying a beverage of one’s choice just enjoying the ‘quiet’ (or as quiet as my downtown neighbourhood ever gets!). Or a good book in the afternoon, with the sun warming you through, life is good right now.

Regardless of how little I am doing in the kitchen, I still love all things to do with food, I read this article today and enjoyed it.  It captures a little of the culture in my fair city.  I had never really heard the term locavore before (and yes, I did Wikipedia it up, and yes, it does exist!) I imagine this trend has grown out of the success of books such as The 100 Mile Diet and the Omnivore’s Dilemma.

A recent report apparently says that Vancouver is a “mecca for so-called “locavores” who eat seasonal, locally-sourced fare rather than industrially-farmed meat and produce, which sometimes can be shipped from thousands of miles away.”

On Saturday at the Farmer’s Market (right beside my community garden plot) I was marvelling at the sighs: ‘Local!’, ‘Organic’, ‘Not even refrigerated yet!’  The irony of it all is that most people in most nations eat local.  They don’t relay on foriegn foods the same way we do.  Now don’t get me wrong, I am not on a soap box here.  I love my oranges and citrus, and sugar, and COFFEE.  But, that being said, I love when I look at my plate and know everything on it is from close by.  Tonights dinner will be:  bbq’d spot prawns fresh off the boat (litterally, I was waiting there for the boat to dock), salad (everything from our garden) And some fresh baby potatoes from the market… yum!
Recipes (and my regular blogging) to commence again soon.


