I often get quite…appreciative? Sentimental? Reflective?…about food.  The flavours and variety we have access to is overwhelming in comparison to even 30 years ago.   Meat and potatoes – the standard of days gone by, crosses our table far less than it did when we were kids.   It’s not a criticism of our moms.  Rather, it is a reflection of where we live, and truly when we live.

Living in the Pacific Northwest I feel like we have an amazing abundance of cuisine to choose from.  Within in two blocks of our place we have the following options: Thai, French, Greek, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Mexican, Italian, Lebanese, Vietnamese, not to mention the regular North American  cuisine to choose from.  I love that.  I love that I can go to one of these restaurants and on my way home stop at the little grocery store right next store and can pick up almost any ingredients I need to make my version of these delicious cuisines.

Dinner was a super simple affair.  Make your own sushi cones, we had left over tuna that I had to make something with.  So out on the table went some sushi rice, nori cut up into smaller pieces, avocado, tuna, cucumber, crab meat etc…but I wanted to add something warm to the mix.  I love short beef ribs when we go out for sushi, TB isn’t as much of a lover.  So I rummaged around in the fridge and freezer and decided to try my hand at some super simple shrimp dumplings.  And here they are…

dumplings

Ingredients:
10-12 large raw prawns, peeled and deveined – tails removed
2 green onions, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic
1 tsp ground ginger – fresh would be better…but we were out
1 1/2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1 white egg
6 button mushrooms, roughly chopped
2 teaspoons Sambal chili garlic sauce
24 wonton wrappers – I used circle cut

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients excpet wonton wrappers in food processors, puree.
  2. Remove and allow to rest in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.
  3. In a sauce pan with a steam basket on it, bring water to a low simmer.
  4. With a tablespoon measure scoop out mixture and wrap in wontons, gently pinching edges together.
  5. Steam in basket lined with lettuce leaves to make sure it doesn’t stick, until cooked thru – about 10 minutes.
  6. Serve with sesame oil and soy sauce to use as a dip.
