The February 2009 challenge is hosted by Wendy of WMPE‘s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef.  We have chosen a Chocolate Valentino cake by Chef Wan; a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Dharm and a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Wendy as the challenge.

I am posting a day late and without a picture (for now – the camera is still packed…somewhere…).  We just got home late yesterday from our ski vacation and it totally slipped my mind to post my challenge.   The cake is delicious!  The recipe says to select a chocolate you really like, as the cake will turn out just like it.  I couldn’t agree more – hazelnut milk chocolate was what we had in the cupboard…and as such I opted to use that up…so good!

Dharm and Wendy both provided a vanilla icecream recipe that you could prepare with this challenge…however I opted for a blackberry sorbet from the Joy of Cooking.  Looking back at many of my posts over the last few months I have really used a lot of blackberries.  A little shot of summer during this dismal wet winter I suppose.

The picture below is a slice with whip cream and homemade Dulce de leche (yummmmmmmmmmmm).

Anyways, a great challenge and as always I encourage everyone to try out the recipe and check out the amazing results of the other very talented Daring Bakers here.

flourless-chocolate-cake

Ingredients:
453 grams of semisweet chocolate, roughly chopped (I used hazelnut
chocolate)
140 grams butter
5 eggs separated


Directions:

  1. Melt chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water. Stir until smooth. Cool
  2. Grease a 22cm spring form pan. (I used a rectangular tart pan, and still had enough batter for a 6″ round spring pan)
  3. Beat egg yolks and stir into cooled chocolate
  4. Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gently fold on quarter of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture. Fold in remaining egg whites
  5. Pour batter into a pan and bake for 25 minutes at 190C/375F or till done. Cool.


Chocolate Valentino by Chef Wan from his book, Sweet Treats

Chef’s note: The Valentino is a heart-shaped version of this cake. Bake a Valentino in a heart-shaped pan. This is a very dense chocolate cake.

