For the last two weeks we have been sick, sick sick. We have had no interest in doing anything, food was one of the last things we cared about. Neither of us are a hundred percent, but slowly I have been getting back into the kitchen. Though I wasn’t in the mood to cook, didn’t mean that I wasn’t thinking about food. In an effort to not go stir crazy in the house I decided to get all my old food magazine’s in order. Over the years I pick up a magazine now and then and flag recipes I want to make. Not that I have any shortages of recipes given this wonderful world wide web and all those foodies out there, but I still like to flip through a magazine once in a while.

A colleague of mine showed me what she did with the random recipes she has. She basically glues them into a notebook and creates a table of contents from the back of the book on. I liked this idea… scrapbooking for food. You can write your own notes around it, and just have one place to keep everything…AND it means I cleared out over 20 magazines!

As I was “scrapbooking” I came across recipes I had forgotten about…this was one of them. And as it turns out, our Valentine’s day dinner. We’ll go out for a nice dinner out, just the two of us when we go on our ski trip in a few weeks, that way we miss all the mayhem of trying to “celebrate love” on the night when everyone else is doing it too!

These were good. Simple and good (as long as you like pork chops ;)). I served them with a simple spinach salad and garlic mashed potatoes...purple garlic mashed potatoes...not very appetizing to look at, but tasty non the less.

pork-chip

Ingredients:
4 pork chops, bone in
salt and pepper

1 TB extra virgin olive oil
2 green onions
4 garlic cloves
1-2 hot peppers, I used Serranos
2 TB coarsley chopped ginger
1/4 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp all spice
1/2 TB dried thyme
2 limes, 1 juiced and 1 cut into wedges

Directions:

  1. Turn oven broiler on,  place a rack at the top placement
  2. Place a roasting rack or cookie rack on a pan with rims (to catch all the juices)
  3. Season each chop with salt and pepper
  4. In a food processors combine: oil, green onions, ginger, garlic, cinnamon, thyme, all spice, hot peppers and lime juice.  Puree.
  5. Coat each chop on all sides with the jerk rub.
  6. Place on rack under broiler.  Broil 7 minutes on each side, should reach internal temp of about 145F – should be lightly browned.

    You could also BBQ these…I think that is what we would do next time.

