I am officially back in the kitchen!  The conference I have been working on finally came together and went off without a hitch!  It feels like for the last two months I have just been counting down to Saturday – and then it came…and went.

One of the fun presents I got this year for my b-day was a pasta maker from TB’s parents!  I was so excited.  With little to no space in the world’s smallest kitchen I have put off getting one for a long time.  But this year when asked what I would like for my birthday I finally said, a pasta maker – we will just have to find space for it!  For the last two weeks it has been sitting in its box on the kitchen table taunting me.  I knew exactly what I wanted to make as soon as I unwrapped the present.

This pasta maker is the cadillac version in my opinion.  The Marcato Multipast makes 7 different pastas, including stuffed tortellini!  I have made pasta by hand a few times.  I haven’t found that I have been able to roll it out as thin as I want to.  Using a pasta maker makes such a difference.  The end result, soft, silky rolled out noodles – loved it! A big thank you to P&M!

With the fettuccine I made, we made cashew chicken pasta, one of our favourites.  Stay tuned for that recipe!

From this…

dough-ball2

roll-12

cutting-noodles2

noodles-on-towel2

finished-noodles1

…to this!

Ingredients:

1 cup AP flour
1 egg, whisked
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp water
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

  1. In a bowl combine flour and salt.
  2. Make a well.
  3. In a smaller bowl, whisk egg, add oil.
  4. Add egg mixture to flour well, slowly combine eggs into flour.
  5. Knead the dough with your hands until it is completely homogenous and consistent.
  6. If the mixture is too dry, add some water, if it is too soft, add some flour.  A good mixture will should never stick to your fingers.
  7. Remove the mixture from the bowl and place onto a light floured surface.  Kneed for 3-5 minutes.
  8. Follow steps to roll out pasta that are specific to your machine.  Those for mine follow:
    > Set the machine regulator to position 1, pulling it outwards and turning it so that the two smooth rollers are completely open (approx 3 mm)
    >Pass a piece of the mixture through the machine turning the handle. Repeat this operation 5-6 times, folding the dough over and adding some flour to the middle if necessary.
    >When the dough has taken a regular shape, pass it through the rollers once only with the regulators set on number 2 through to 7.
    >With a knife cut the dough crossways in pieces approximately 25 cm long.
    >Transfer the dough to the cutting rollers, turn it slowly and pass the dough through.
  9. Place the pasta on a towel or a rack to dry for at least an hour.
  10. Pasta can keep for 1-2 weeks if kept in a cool, dry place.

Cooking Directions:

  1. Bring a pan of salted water to a boil.
  2. Add pasta, remember fresh pasta cooks in just a few minutes (2-5 minutes depending on the thickness)
  3. Stir gently and then drain the pasta once it has finished cooking.
