Do you ever make something and then think to yourself, why would I make this any other way? This soup kind of hit that cord with me. As a kid I loved Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom soup, as I explained last March. It was a Saturday lunch staple at our house. In the cool months it warmed us up, and now as an adult I think back to those family lunches with a smile.

I know that canned soups aren’t great for you because of the sodium content. And if anyone has been watching TV lately you probably have seen the Campbell’s commercials outlining their lower sodium soups. Well, this homemade version is just as tasty, and I am certain way better for you.

I don’t know if I was just cold and hungry, but this just completely hit the spot for dinner last night. Throw in a little crusty bread and you have a super simple dinner in mere minutes.

musrhoom-soup

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 medium sized leek, sliced
3 stalks celery, chopped
4 cups chopped mushrooms
3 cloves garlic
3 1/2 cups low-fat turkey or veggie stock
4 Tbsp whipping cream
1/2 cup skim milk
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a deep pot, add leek, celery, garlic and mushroom over medium heat, stir and allow to sauté until the mushrooms start to loose their moisture.
  2. Cover with stock and allow to simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. With an immersion blender puree the soup (carefully!)
  4. Season to taste.

Yield – 4 large bowls

