After a few savoury recipes as part of the Daring Baker’s monthly challenges, this month we were introduced to sugar…This would have been a hit with Pete, but since I left the challenge right up to the last possible minute (again!) he doesn’t get to enjoy it as he is away for the weekend. So since it was just going to be me, I halfed the recipe. It will be a nice treat after dinner with my parents tonight.

Thank you to Shuna Fish Lydon of Eggbeater for providing this month’s cake recipe*. The challenge was hosted by Dolores of Chronicles in Culinary Curiosity this month. She was also joined by a small team of folks, adding extra bits, whether it was homemade caramel candies**, or alternative recipe options, the group comprised of:

The whole recipe can be found here.

caramel-cake

The cake took a little longer to bake for me than the recipe had suggested. And because of that I left it in the oven…and forgot about it! Ooops… oh well, the icing helps with the little bit of dried outness. A super easy cake to make. My only flag is the home made caramel. If I hadn’t left it to the last possible minute, I would have redone it. I think I over thickened.

Here’s to December and the Christmas challenge, last year was Yule Logs (which I have never made!) Looking forward to seeing this years 🙂

*as published on Bay Area Bites
** Pure Dessert, by Alice Medrich, Artisan Press, Copyright 2007, ISBN: 978-1579652111

