Back in August, the bounty of the summer season was upon us. There is nothing like the farmer’s markets overflowing with such fresh and wonderful looking produce. In the middle of August we were in the Okanagan and picked up 15 lbs of Roma tomatoes, amongst other things. I thought I would take a stab at making some salsa to store away for those fall and winter months that need livening up with summer’s freshness.

Our friends who got married this summer gave home made salsa and raspberry jam that we made as favours for the wedding. I didn’t have that recipe so I started scouring the internet. I will admit that the concern over the acidity of the salsa (to make sure it was high enough) was a little nerve racking. I was planning on using a hot water bath (HWB) instead of a pressure cooker. Afterall, I didn’t want to kill anyone with botulism.

I finally came across this recipe from several years ago, on the iVillage Garden Web. I made some slight modifications based on notes from many of the reviews. The biggest change was that I did not de-seed the tomatoes. I had read that roma tomatoes are a paste tomato thickening sauces, so I wanted to keep the liquid from the seeds, we prefer our salsa to be on the thinner consistency, not super thick. We also made it a little spicier than the original recipe.

I was really happy with the result. It is a medium hot salsa – we like it that way, however all you have to do is reduce the hot peppers if you want something a little milder. I will be making this for years to come, and will make more than just the one batch… next summer! (A big thank you to Annie for sharing this great recipe!) I didn’t take any pictures of the salsa back when I made it. Today was a gorgeous day, with lots of natural light, so I finally dug it out to add to the blog.

salsa

Ingredients:
8 cups roma tomatoes, peeled, chopped
2 ½ cups chopped onion
1 ½ cups chopped green pepper
8 chopped jalapeños
2 chopped Serrano peppers
6 cloves minced garlic
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp pepper
1/8 cup pickling salt
¼ cup chopped fresh parsley
1/3 cup sugar
1 cup red wine vinegar (or you could use lemon and lime juice as well)
16 oz. can tomato sauce
4 oz tomato paste

Directions

  1. When chopping vegetables, be careful with the hot peppers. I didn’t wear gloves a few months back and seeded and chopped about 20 jalapeños. I experienced some pretty intense burns on my hands…I don’t wish that on anyone! I used my little food processor this time for the peppers and garlic. Super fast work of a tedious job!
  2. Mix all ingredients, bring to a boil, boil 10 minutes.
  3. Heat rubber rimmed tops in hot water, not boiling.
  4. Pour salsa into hot sterlized jars, wipe rims with a damp paper cloth. Place rubber rimmed tops on and tighten ring.
  5. Process for 15 minutes for pints.

Makes 9 pints.

