I haven’t posted in almost three weeks now. An eternity in the blog world. Believe it or not we have been eating in more than ever, meaning I have been cooking more, but somehow posting less. One of the reasons I have been cooking so much more is that I have decided to be more organized with my meal planning. Every Sunday I have been sitting down, deciding on various meals for the week, ensuring there will be leftovers for lunch and then off to the grocery store and trying to one shop for the week, not running down at least once a day.

I know that this is not an earth shattering means of organziation, and most people probably do this. But I have ignored it before because I felt it “boxed me in”. Didn’t allow me to be creative and make what we felt like. Now I see it more like I have all the ingredients in the fridge for multiple meals and can make one of five, so there is choice, just not as broad as previously.

Onto this meal…when I was in Mexico a few weeks back, I fell in love with grouper (the fish). I am sure they cooked it in butter and that was it, but it was fresh, tasty and mild at the same time. I typically enjoyed it crumbled over a big green salad. Since being home, I have craved fish tacos. So tonight in 15 minutes we whisked together some delish halibut fish tacos and a chipotle/avocado yogurt sauce.

fish taco

Ingredients:

1 avocado
1/3 cup non-fat yogurt
1 chipotle pepper
2 cloves garlic
3 tbsp fresh cilantro
juice from one lime

1 tsp kosher salt8 oz deboned fresh halibut
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp butter
salt

4 or 5 small whole wheat tortillas

1/2 cup shredded cabbage (I used green, but red would be good too!)
1/2 cup shredded romaine lettuce
1 carrot shredded
1/2 tomato diced
1/4 cup salsa
1/4 cup shredded havarti cheese

Directions:

  1. In a food processor combine: avocado, yogurt, chipotle pepper, garlic, lime juice, cilantro, and first amount of salt. Reserve.
  2. Heat oil and butter in a pan over medium heat.
  3. Season the fish with a pinch of salt and pepper.
  4. Cook fish 4 minutes per side. Remove from heat. Flake fish a few minutes later.
  5. Heat tortillas in the pan.
  6. Assemble tacos: tortilla, sauce, halibut, toppings.

Makes 5 – 6 inch tacos
6 WW / tortilla

