The sun was out. The rain held off (finally). I wasn’t in class. And so the garden finally got finished.  TB and I have agreed to keep the garden as a shared project between us. Really it means that I plant, weed and harvest and he waters it during the super hot weeks in the summer. I’m looking forward to the freshness that will be on my table in a few short weeks.  I’ve added a few extra flower beds this year in front of the usual leafy greens, opted out of peas and added way more tomato plants than in the past.


So if all goes correctly the following will be part of  a summer/fall harvest:

  1. tomatoes: big boy, green leprechaun, cherry, yellow heirloom, purple heirlooms
  2. beans: red long, green stringless
  3. rhubarb
  4. pumpkin
  5. squash
  6. pickling cucumbers
  7. early carrots
  8. sweet beets
  9. swiss chard
  10. kohlrabi
  11. strawberries
  12. a variety of lettuces
  13. herbs: rosemary, cilantro, basil
  14. And lots of flowers: dahlias, lobelia, poppies and sweet peas
Looking forward to posting a picture of the garden in full bloom sooner than later :) And maybe, just maybe some recipes.
